Board of Architectural Review


The Board of Architectural Review reviews and approves plans for new construction that are situated in one of the City’s architectural districts. The Board is comprised of seven volunteer members appointed by City Council. This seven member board is established with the following powers:

  • Review new construction within established Architectural Overlay Districts
  • Review new construction, exterior renovations, and new signs within the General Commercial District
  • Review new construction within other areas as designated by ordinance

Meetings are scheduled for the first Thursday of each month provided there are agenda requests.  Requests to appear in front of this board are made through submission of one of the following forms with the deadline for the submission:

Details regarding protocol for meetings, submissions, documents, etc. are available by calling the Zoning and Codes Administrator at 653-2050.
Board members are city residents appointed by City Council for a four year term. Specific criterion for certain board members is required. Current Board Members are:

  • L Curtis Arnold

  • Jane Brown

  • Russell Hebert III

  • Tom Henderson

  • R. Wayne Leftwich, Jr.

  • Gina McLellan

  • Davis Moorhead